View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:10 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Recording/Cubase 
Author Message
Pub Rockstar
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:09 pm
Posts: 569
Location: UK (Midlands)
Post Recording/Cubase
What's everyone been using for recording lately? I have a TASCAM 788 which was state-of-the-art back in the day (2003!) which still works for me. But when I got my new amp (Yamaha THR 10 - see separate thread), it came with Cubase AI6, which I assume is the latest low-end version of their software.

Even though it supposedly requires Win7, I was able to install it into XP with no problems (so far). It's a pretty nice setup for as little work as I've done with it in less than a week, and I'm already thinking about upgrading to the next level (Cubase Elements) for £39.99. Anybody else have any experience with Cubase?

I started off back in the 80's with 1/4" tape, bought one of the first cassette home multitracks (the TEAC 144), then went digital with a Pocketstudio 5, followed by the 788. I've used Audicity, and tried to load Pro Tools, but never had a PC powerful enough to do much with it. So far Cubase has been my most extensive foray into PC tracking.

_________________
Mike - Militant Left-hander


Sat May 26, 2012 11:52 am
Profile WWW
Pub Rockstar
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:14 pm
Posts: 909
Location: Australia/Gold Coast
Post Re: Recording/Cubase
I have just the basic's with recording gear nothing flash, bit like my playing :lol:
Just use a Line6 Guitar Port/Gearbox & Riffworks has some cool drum patterns to play along with.
Since my neighbours moved out a week ago I have been crankin' the "Tweaker" up into the sweet spot, man I love that amp.
I have old version Cubase LE4 but did not like it & a few other guys I have spoken to said the same & they are smarter than me when it comes to recording, sounds like your new version is a lot nicer.
I like Audacity free it's basic & easy to get around, nice 'n' simple for my simple mind. 8-)


Sat May 26, 2012 11:28 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: Scotland
Post Re: Recording/Cubase
Most of the time when I record it's just straight to the video recording software :lol: I use Reaper for everything else.

_________________
LeftyFretz.com | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Google+| Learn Guitar


Sun May 27, 2012 8:49 am
Profile WWW
Pub Rockstar
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:09 pm
Posts: 569
Location: UK (Midlands)
Post Re: Recording/Cubase
The next thing I need to figure out is setting up drum tracks. My 4-track has a built in drum pattern machine that I can operate in my sleep, but it might be time to move up to something more intricate. My problem is that I hate the idea of having to tap out kick/snare beats, etc. I'd much rather have preset patterns I can just set in place.

_________________
Mike - Militant Left-hander


Sun May 27, 2012 11:48 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: Scotland
Post Re: Recording/Cubase
Chimpspanner has laying down drum tracks licked :shock:


_________________
LeftyFretz.com | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Google+| Learn Guitar


Sun May 27, 2012 12:22 pm
Profile WWW
Hadcore Fan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:11 am
Posts: 45
Location: Reading, UK
Post Re: Recording/Cubase
Holy crap that's awesome! :shock:


Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:37 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.